EMCo About usQualityServicesExpertiseMethodologySafetyContact Us navextra
Air quality Telephone: 01189 123 456
email: enquiries@emco.co.uk
Services Main extra

Automated Monitoring System – An instrumental array of analysers (sometimes just one analyser) installed in the stack by the process operator to continually measure and record emission values of pollutant species.

Annual Surveillance Test – a mini QAL2 required annually to prove that the CEMs or AMS is still functioning correctly.

BS EN 15675
An international standard detailing the application of quality management BS EN 17025 to source emission testing – an additional tier of quality akin to MCERT. BS EN 17025 The international standard against which the performance of a laboratory’s quality assurance system is measured. Euphemistically referred to as having UKAS accreditation.

Continuous Emission Monitors - An instrumental array of analysers (sometimes just one) installed in the stack by the process operator to continually measure and record emission values of pollutant species.

Emission Limit Value – The maximum concentration of a particular pollutant that can be emitted from the process during normal process operations. Allowed under an installations PPC or environmental permit (A1, A2 or Part B)

Level II (2)
Highest qualification of source test engineer that requires several years monitoring experience. A level 2 must always be on site as team leader for all MCERT projects.

An Environment Agency technical guidance note (TGN) mostly detailing the site and safety requirements for stack monitoring

An Environment Agency technical guidance note (TGN) mostly detailing the monitoring framework within MCERTs and the approaches to, and hierarchy of stack monitoring methods

Monitoring Certification Scheme - The Environment agency’s own quality assurance scheme that sets out a framework for safe accurate monitoring. Another tier of Quality assurance above the UKAS accreditation.

Method Implementation Directive - Environment agency documents that offer advice and clarification of the international monitoring Standards and SRMs.

Quality Assurance Level 2 – An extended monitoring exercise to validate newly installed CEMS or AMS systems (or after five-years in service).

A list of pollutant species for which the laboratory holds UKAS accreditation. UKAS accredited laboratories not only must the laboratory quality management meet the international standard but each type of test must be technically assessed and accredited for the international standards

Standard Reference Methods - The international standards used for the performance measurements of individual pollutant parameters eg. BS EN 13284-1 for particulate matter or BS EN 13211 for mercury sampling.

Site Specific Protocol is a document detailing how the monitoring company is going to implement the monitoring on your site. This is a legal requirement of MCERT projects.

Stationary source emission
Chimneys, stacks, flues, ducts or any other generic term for a pipe with pollutant emissions that may require monitoring.

TE1, TE2 etc..
Technical Endorsements: Accreditation held by professional source test engineers for the monitoring of different pollutant groups TE1 particulate, TE2 dioxins and metals, TE3 acid gas species and TE4 instrumental methods

United Kingdom Accreditation Service - Laboratory quality assurance body overseeing the monitoring organisation. No MCERT work can be performed unless the sampling laboratory holds UKAS accreditation